ResearchBib Share Your Research, Maximize Your Social Impacts
Sign for Notice Everyday Sign up >> Login

LATIN 2012 - 10th Latin American Theoretical Informatics Symposium



VenueArequipa, Peru Peru



Topics/Call fo Papers

Latin American Theoretical INformatics (LATIN 2012)
April 16-20, 2012, Arequipa, Peru

A series of Symposia in Theoretical Computer Science was launched in 1992, to
be held in Latin America: LATIN (Latin American Theoretical INformatics). This
is the tenth event of the series, after Sao Paulo, Brazil (1992), Valparaiso,
Chile (1995), Campinas, Brazil (1998), Punta del Este, Uruguay (2000), Cancun,
Mexico (2002), Buenos Aires, Argentina (2004), Valdivia, Chile (2006), Buzios,
Brazil (2008), and Oaxaca, Mexico (2010).

Submission of papers in all areas of theoretical computer science is hereby
solicited, including (but not limited to): algorithms (approximation, online,
randomized, algorithmic game theory, etc.), automata theory and formal
languages, coding theory and data compression, combinatorics and graph theory,
complexity theory, computational algebra, computational biology, computational
geometry, computational number theory, databases and information retrieval,
data structures, Internet and the web, logic in computer science, machine
learning, mathematical programming, parallel and distributed computing,
pattern matching, quantum computing, random structures, scientific computing.

Proceedings containing the accepted extended abstracts will be published by
Springer-Verlag, in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

---- SUBMISSION ----

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract in English no longer than
12 pages (including the bibliography) on letter-size paper using at least
11-point font in Springer LNCS format. Additional necessary details must be
included in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of
the program committee. Instructions for electronic submissions will be posted
at the conference web site:


Scott Aaronson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Luc Devroye, McGill University
Marcos Kiwi, Universidad de Chile
Kirk Pruhs, University of Pittsburgh
Dana Randall, Georgia Institute of Technology


Submission: Sep. 23, 2011
Notification: Nov. 25, 2011
Final version: Dec. 16, 2011


Starting in 2012, an award shall be given to the LATIN paper deemed to be most
influential among all those published at least ten years prior to the current
edition of the conference. Papers published in the LATIN proceedings up to
and including 2002 are eligible for the 2012 award.

---- LOCATION ----

Arequipa is Peru's second largest city, with a population of over 900,000. It
is located 1,020 kilometers southeast of Lima, at 2,230 meters above sea level,
and is surrounded by mountains, most notably the Misti volcano. It is also the
home of the Universidad Catolica San Pablo, which will host LATIN 2012. The
weather is sunny year-round, warm during the day and cool at night. Arequipa is
an important center of Peruvian arts and culture. Its downtown area, with
buildings made of white volcanic rock blending native and Spanish styles, is a
UNESCO World Heritage site. Among the attractions within easy reach is the Colca
canyon, one of the world's deepest. Southern Peru has many points of interest,
including the Cusco region (famous, among other things, for Machu Picchu), the
Nazca lines, and the Altiplano. Peru's cuisine is world-renowned, and Arequipa
occupies a special place in Peruvian gastronomy.

The conference web site will contain travel and local information, and other
useful facts.


R. Baeza-Yates, Yahoo!
N. Bansal, IBM
J. Barbay, U. Chile
M. Bender, Stony Brook U.
J. R. Correa, U. Chile
P. Crescenzi, U. Firenze
M. Farach-Colton, Rutgers U.
C. G. Fernandes, U. Sao Paulo
D. Fernandez-Baca (Chair), Iowa State U.
G. Fonseca, Unirio
J. von zur Gathen, U. Bonn
J. Koebler, Humboldt U.
Y. Kohayakawa, U. Sao Paulo
S. R. Kosaraju, Johns Hopkins U.
R. Kumar, Yahoo!
G. Manzini, U. Piemonte Orientale
A. Marchetti-Spaccamela, U. Roma
C. Martinez, UPC Barcelona
E. Mayordomo, U. Zaragoza
L. Moura, U. Ottawa
J. I. Munro, U. Waterloo
A. Oliveira, U. Tecnica Lisboa
K. Pruhs, U. Pittsburg
L. Rademacher, Ohio State U.
I. Rapaport, U. Chile
A. Richa, Arizona State U.
J. Sakarovitch, CNRS/ENST
G. Salazar, U. San Luis Potosi
N. Schabanel, LIAFA U. Paris
R. I. Silveira, UPC Barcelona
M. Singh, Princeton U.
M. Strauss, U. Michigan
W. Szpankowski, Purdue U.
J. Urrutia, UNAM
E. Vigoda, Georgia Tech
A. Viola, U. de la Republica


A. Cuadros-Vargas, U. San Pablo
E. Cuadros-Vargas (Chair), U. San Pablo
M. P. Rondon R., U. San Pablo
R. Ticona H., U. San Pablo
Y. Tupac V., U. San Pablo

---- CONTACT ----

David Fernandez-Baca

Last modified: 2011-06-07 07:16:14